Let’s apply the license key we’ve obtained from the licensing portal.

We can do so by clicking on the Configuration tab, then selecting Licensing from the left side menu, and clicking on the Change button.

image

Enter in your license key.

image

Now that the key is applied you should see additional information displayed in the Licensing section. Click on the Contact Now button to verify connectivity between the Core and the licensing server.

image  image


We have provisioned a storage repository in the previous post. You can see it under the Home tab.

image

Next, let’s click on Protect Machine. Enter in the host name of the server you already have the Agent installed on, as well as the appropriate domain user account and corresponding password.

image

Under the Options section, you can specify the display name of the server you are ‘protecting’, the Repository you want to use (in our case there is only one), as well as the Encryption Key (in our case we have opted not to configure encryption initially).

image

The checkbox next to Initially pause protection should be checked if you want to hold off on creating the base image (full backup of the machine). You may choose to create the base image outside of regular business hours, as it may impact your network traffic. Especially if you are enabling protection on multiple servers at the same time. If this checkbox is checked, as soon as you click on the Protect button it’ll start taking the full backup of the specified server. If paused, base image creating will need to be manually initiated (unpaused) at a later time. This initial full backup cannot be scheduled.

In the Volumes section, you see all volumes of the machine you are trying to protect. You can choose which ones you’d like backed up, as well as the backup schedule for each of the volumes. To modify the default values, click on Edit.

image

To create a base image of a server, after you have initially paused protection, click on the server name in the Home tab, then click on the Actions button, and select Resume Protection from the drop down menu.

image

You can view/configure the default Retention Policy, under the Configuration tab, Retention Policy menu option.

image

By default this policy will keep the hourly snapshots (or Recovery Points) for 3 days – 72 snapshots. Then it’s going to keep hourly snapshots for an extra 2 days – so really you’ll have 5 days worth of hourly snapshots. Those will then get rolled up into daily Recovery Points that will be kept for 4 days, which will in turn be rolled up into Weekly RPs. These will be retained for 3 weeks and will then be rolled up to a Monthly RP which will be preserved for 2 months.

You can have only one global retention policy. You can define a custom retention or each individual machine you are protecting by clicking on the server name, clicking on the Configuration tab, then selecting the Retention Policy menu option on the left. There you can click on the Use custom retention policy radio button.

image

%d bloggers like this: